Getting Started with Collaborations in Canvas (Students)

Canvas Collaborations Overview

Canvas allows your instructor to create a Google Doc, Google Sheet, or Google Slides and share it with students using a feature called "Collaborations." You may be assigned to a Collaboration by yourself (meaning only you and your instructor can view it) or in a group (meaning all group members and your instructor can view it). Collaborations allow all members of a group to work at the same time and immediately see changes made by anyone in the group. You can also leave comments for other group members (or your instructor) to see.

Once you have accessed your Collaboration through Canvas, the Google Doc, Sheet, or Slides works exactly the same as it does outside of Canvas. If you have not worked with these Google products before, you can learn more using the Google Workspace Learning Center.

In this Collaborations Overview (Students) video (2 minutes, closed captioned), you will learn how to use Collaborations in your Canvas course.

How to Access Your Collaboration

Once your instructor has assigned you to a Collaboration, you can access it by following these steps:

  1. Navigate to your Canvas course.
  2. Click the "Collaborations" link on the left-side menu inside your course.
  3. On the Collaborations page, you can view the name of the collaboration, the description, the person who created the collaboration, and the date and time the collaboration was created.
  4. Click the title of the Collaboration you want to access.
  5. Click "Authorize" if you are prompted to connect Canvas and your TWU Google Account.
  6. Your Collaboration will open in a new browser tab.

There are several Canvas resources available:

Support Options

  • If you do not see "Collaborations" on the left-side menu of your Canvas course, contact your instructor.
  • To request technical support, submit a Technology Service Desk email to start a ticket. 

Details

Article ID: 120201
Created
Wed 11/11/20 3:10 PM
Modified
Fri 6/25/21 3:33 PM