At this time, all student enrollments in Canvas courses are controlled by the university's Student Information System, Colleague. When a student registers for a course, they are added to the corresponding course shell in Canvas within 2-4 hours. In order to maintain accurate university records, when a student drops a course, Colleague notifies Canvas and the student is made, "Inactive" in the Canvas course (within 2-4 hours). Inactive student cannot access the course and they do not receive any communications from the course. While Inactive students do appear on the People page, they do not appear in the course gradebook, unless the gradebook is specifically set to view Inactive students.