Affinity Group Information

Affinity Groups are a collection of faculty and staff who actively engage in communication and/or gather around a centrally unifying purpose, mission, background or activity.

Steps to Establish and Charter an Affinity Group:

  • Review Affinity Group Policy 
  • Complete Affinity Group Application
  • Appoint and document the selection of officers
  • Adopt bylaws
  • Submit application form, documentation of officers and the adoption of bylaws to the University’s Affinity Group Liaison (Tony Yardley, ayardley@twu.edu) in the Office of Human Resources for approval.

Approved TWU Affinity Groups:

Wellness Works

To foster positive behavioral change through wellness education, mentoring the development of healthier environments, peer support, and offering employees support through existing TWU wellness resources and additional programmatic efforts.

Contact: Lisa Haynes, lhaynes@twu.edu, 940-898-2256

Self subscribe to Wellness Works listserv here

TWU Fellowship 

We seek to provide an atmosphere where Christian faculty, administrators and staff can collaborate, share and exchange ideas and thoughts on how to express Christian love and compassion within a public university setting. We strive to support a strong university community that is built on hope, love and mutual respect. 

Contact: Tammy Hood, thood@twu.edu, 940-898-2819

Maintaining Motherhood in Academia (MMA)

MMA strives to provide support for TWU faculty and staff who self identify as academics and mothers as well as provide a voice for mothers in academia.

Contact: Wendi Johnson, PhD, wjohnson4@twu.edu, 940-898-2329 or Jackie Hoermann-Elliott, jhelliott@twu.edu. 940-898-2348 for Denton 

Contact: Laura Brown, lbrown48@twu.edu, 214-689-6605 for Dallas 

TWQ

TWQ works to provide a space and a sense of belongingness for faculty & staff who identify as LGBTQ+ at the university for current and future LGBTQ+ employees and allies

Contact: Johsua Mackrill, jmackrill@twu.edu. 940-898-3553

TBFSA

To create a community of support that fosters professional growth, success, and camaraderie among Black faculty and staff at TWU. While fostering community within the employee group, we also hope to create and advocate for resources for Black students at the university. 

Contact: Elizabeth Durham, edurham1@twu.edu, 940-898-3627

 

Details

Article ID: 32862
Created
Wed 7/5/17 10:34 AM
Modified
Fri 10/18/19 12:15 PM

Files (1)